Board of Directors

Dr Ramiz Boulos (Founder and Director)

Ramiz BoulosDr Boulos graduated with a PhD in Chemistry from the University of Western Australia in 2011. He then went on to work at the Centre for Strategic Nanofabrication at the University of Western Australia. In late 2012, Dr Boulos acquired the rights to the intellectual property which forms the basis of the novel antimicrobials the company is seeking to commercialise. Ownership of these patents has resulted from Dr Boulos’ research on the discovery of this new class of antimicrobials. From 2013-2014, Dr Boulos worked as a Research Associate at Flinders University in South Australia, on a range of projects for the Centre of NanoScale and Technology. Dr Boulos holds an Adjunct Lecturer position at Flinders University and is a previous SA Tally Poppy (2014). He is a member of the Australian Society of Antimicrobials, the Australian Society of Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering and the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Dr Boulos is an inventor of and investor in various other technologies including Veratin, which he founded in 2016.

Mr Alfonso Pelliccione (Non-Executive Director)

Alfonso PelliccioneMr Alfonso Pelliccione is the Managing Director of the Ampac Group of Companies, which has under its umberalla, Ampac Technologies Pty Ltd, Ampac Developments Pty Ltd and Ampac Safety Pty Ltd. Ampac technologies has been in operation for over 30 years and is the largest independently owned Australian company involved in design, manufacture and distribution of fire detection and emergency warning systems with wholly subsidiaries in New Zealand and the United Kingdom. Ampac Safety Pty Ltd is a distributer of passive fire extinguishing products and Ampac Developments Pty Ltd is an external investment vehicle with interest in property and investments outside the mainstream “Ampac” business model. Mr Pelliccione is also a current board member of the Fire Protection Association of Australia (FPA) and represents FPA Australia via technical committee TAC2 on the Australian Standards FP-002 committee.

Mr Grant Pestell (Non-Executive Director)

Mr Pestell is a founding director of law firm Murcia Pestell Hillard. He has 20 years’ experience in commercial litigation, and corporate and commercial law, and has been the Managing Director of Murcia Pestell Hillard since 2000. Mr Pestell has extensive experience advising high net worth individuals, listed and private companies in a range of industries including information and communications technology (ICT), energy and resources and construction. He has also advised public companies and directors on matters of corporate governance and mergers and acquisitions. Mr Pestell was recognised by Lawyer Monthly Magazine as one of the Global 250 Leading Lawyers for 2014. He holds a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Western Australia. Mr Pestell has extensive experience as a public company director, including Non-Executive Director roles with Singapore-listed AGC-Ausgroup and information and technology services provider ASG Group Limited (listed on ASX until its takeover in December 2016 by Nomura Research Institute). He is currently Non-Executive Chairman of ASX-listed artificial intelligence company OpenDNA Limited.

Stephanie Rowland (Non-Executive Director)

Stephanie is a specialist in corporate, private M&A and intellectual property & technology (IP&T) law. She has also spent many years advising on private M&A transactions (sell-side and buy-side) and complex contract negotiations, acting for Australian and foreign publicly listed and private companies with joint ventures and projects in Australia, China and the US.



Professor John Turnidge (Non-Executive Director)

Professor Turnidge graduated in medicine from Sydney University and subsequently trained in infectious diseases and microbiology at Flinders Medical Centre. After a period as Head of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases at Monash Medical Centre in Melbourne, he returned to the Women’s and Children’s Hospital in Adelaide to a similar position. Subsequently, he became Director of the Division of Laboratory Medicine at the same institution. Professor Turnidge has a long-standing interest in antimicrobial prescribing and antimicrobial resistance, and has contributed nationally in these areas to government, international organisations and learned societies, including the NHMRC, the WHO, the US-based Clinical and Laboratory Standards Institute, and the Therapeutic Guidelines-Antibiotic writing group. He co-founded the Australian Society for Antimicrobials, which now has over 500 members and retains expertise in diagnostic microbiology and infectious diseases clinical work, and his advice is sought on all aspects of antimicrobials from laboratory testing to development and appropriate use. Professor Turnidge is working with the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care to develop and implement the first comprehensive national surveillance system for antimicrobial use and resistance in Australia.

Professor Andrew Wilks FTSE (Non-Executive Director)

Professor Andrew Wilks is a serial entrepreneur, and, following a successful academic career at the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research in 1997 left to start Cytopia, a small molecule drug discovery company. Since then, Professor Wilks has started eleven companies that undertake self-funded drug discovery or provide drug discovery services to the Australian and overseas pharmaceutical industry. He has published 1 book, > 100 peer reviewed publications, and >60 US patents and patent applications. He holds an Adjunct/Honorary Professorship in the Department of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences at Monash University and is a Fellow in the Chemical Biology Lab at WEHI. He was elected to the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE) in 2007. He has won a number of significant awards, including the inaugural winner of the Australian Biobusiness Award (2007), Johnson and Johnson Ausbiotech Industry Leadership Award (2016). He was awarded the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering Clunies-Ross Medal (Entrepreneur of the Year) (2017).


Learn more